Europe: Favorite Places and Spaces Abroad

Good afternoon friends!

Quite the overdue post, seems to be a trend for me lately. But this time not due to lack of time but more because I had trouble deciding how to address all my favorites places and spaces abroad. So I’ve decided to just include a little bit of everything in one post!

Foodies-

typical breakfast to go: pan au chocolat & cappuccino

My Photo

have to try: macaroons

IMG_4457

best value for dessert: McDonald’s Cafe

522396_10201800273594323_469911754_n

first home-cooked dinner in our Juan-les-Pins apartment: smoked salmon, fresh avocado, toast & leftover pasta salad

IMG_4388

my go-to dinner choice (when I couldn’t decide on anything else): pizza margherita

IMG_4416

favorite gelato: too many favorites

IMG_4328

best refreshing drink: sangria

IMG_5136

Places-

gorgeous place for hiking: Cinque Terre, Italy

DSCN2530

favorite architecture: Barcelona, Spain

DSCN1307

must-see city: Eze, France

DSCN1035

favorite region: Tuscany, Italy

12665_10201800283274565_1849131492_n

where I celebrated my birthday: Venezia, Italy

DSCN2992

Spaces-

worthwhile day trip visit: Versailles, France

IMG_4100

one of my favorite cathedrals: Cathédrale de Notre Dame, Paris

DSCN0579

a peaceful retreat: Monastery of Montserrat, Barcelona

DSCN1634

most anticipated visit to: Rome, Italy

999103_10201800272954307_1009455477_n

experiences, the good & bad-

a bucket list item: parasailing over the Mediterranean in Juan-les-Pins

IMG_4558

coolest experience: attending the 60th Anniversary of the Cannes Lions International Festival of Creativity

IMG_4591

celebrity spotlight: meeting with Conan O’Brien through my study abroad program in Cannes

IMG_4789

not so great experience: getting slightly seasick in the middle of the Mediterranean right before scuba diving

IMG_4899

a scary moment: when my 6:15am flight from Barcelona to Rome almost took off (without me)

IMG_5114

great accomplishment: winning a Canned Lion for our marketing campaign project

1011022_10151729338007673_1985827486_n (1)

Here are a few quick tips for any of you lucky ones that may be traveling abroad in the near future:

Pack light. Oh by golly, pack light. Some airlines are so restrictive on luggage and weight limits, that you are so better off packing light or buying things like toiletries once you arrive at your destination. Plus, leaves a little extra wiggle room for any souvenir shopping!

Camera equipment is a must. Let’s be honest. We all get a little jealous of those who travel near and far from us. So pack your camera and get ready to take a million photos (or something close to that).

Take comfy shoes. There is so much to see, which means a lot of walking! Comfortable shoes are soo important, (forget the heels). Your feet will surely thank you!

Journal while you’re there. This is something I lacked on but wish I would have done more of. It really helps to organize your thoughts and definitely something you can refer to when you’re back home.

Research beforehand, enjoy while you’re there. Before I traveled, I looked into the main sightseeing I wanted to do, travel distance between cities, etc. and it really made my time abroad much easier. Not to mention, wifi was not always available.

Going abroad sure does change your perspective on so many levels. I certainly learned a lot during my study abroad program and about travel in general. It appears I have a bit of the travel bug (side effect of seeing so many beautiful places) and cannot wait for my next adventure! Have you recently traveled somewhere or are planning a trip soon? Would love to hear your experiences! 🙂

Hope you enjoyed the post. Until next time! 

Gloria

Leave a Reply

