A Moment of Silence for September 11

This is my moment of silence, reflection and prayer as I remember Sept. 11, 2001.

Eleven years ago, I sat in a classroom with many other bright eleven-year-olds as we began our morning music class. I have always been the quiet one in class that preferred the back seat, but I was (strategically) placed in the front so I would interact more and perhaps learn more from the extroverted children. As I sat in the front row, I had first looks at what was happening out the front door. My middle-school teacher was just stepping out of the classroom when I caught a glimpse of all the teachers roaming the halls and whispering with unreadable expressions on their faces.

At the time, what did I know? I was just an eleven-year-old learning the difference between low notes and high notes. But I did know. I knew that things were ‘not okay’ especially when they cancelled music class and asked all of us to politely line up for a “safety drill.” It quickly turned into a school lockdown and before I knew it, I was surrounded by hundreds of very loud (some crying, some yelling, some stunned) children who all did not know what was going on.

Little did we know that just 10 miles or so away parents, aunts, uncles and many other family & friends of many of those around me were in one of the Towers. That some of those very eleven-year-olds in my own class were never going to have a chance to say goodbye to their loved ones.

Eleven years ago I was in New York when the September 11 attacks occurred. This memory is very fond and deep in my heart. I will never ever forget the day that my teacher attempted (with tears streaming down her face) to explain to all her eleven-year-old students that New York had been a victim of terroristic attacks.

~No matter where we are today as Americans, we all fall into a similar story. Some close to the City, some near the Pentagon, others many many states away. Regardless, we are a United family. We stand together with our country. And together, (if you haven’t already) let’s take a moment to remember each and every American citizen that has (and may forever) been affected by Sept. 11.

I will continue to give thanks and gratitude for all those who died fighting for the lives of others.

God bless our country.

One response to “A Moment of Silence for September 11

  1. I think this is a great way to show how New York and the people who went through that will always be in our hearts.

Leave a Reply

